Osco Tank and Truck Sales chat window

What Does a DOT Truck Inspection Cover?

All commercial motor vehicles (CMV) weighing more than 10,000 pounds must undergo an annual Department of Transportation (DOT) inspection, but what does that mean?

The DOT wants to ensure all of a vehicle’s parts and accessories are in working order. The safety of the driver, passenger, and all others sharing the road is paramount.

At Osco Tank & Truck Sales, all Osco-certified used chassis undergo a certified DOT inspection at an independent truck service center.

The Department of Transportation has six primary levels of DOT inspections, most involve the vehicle and the driver, but the Level V inspection is a Vehicle Only Inspection, which is the type that all Osco-certified use chassis undergo.

Level V: Vehicle-Only Inspection

This inspection includes:

Red Osco Tank & Truck Sales Dominator tanker truck full-body view looking from the back to the front.
A DOT vehicle-only inspection is a bumper-to-bumper inspection.
  • Brakes
  • Brake lamps
  • Coupling devices
  • Emergency exits and/or electrical cables and systems in the engine and battery compartments (for buses)
  • Exhaust system
  • Fuel system
  • Frame
  • Headlamps
  • Lamps on projecting loads
  • Safe loading
  • Seatbelts
  • Securement of cargo
  • Steering mechanism
  • Stop lamps
  • Suspension
  • Tail lamps
  • Tires
  • Trailer bodies
  • Turn signals
  • Wheels, rims and hubcaps
  • Windshield wipers

Canada and the United States share similar reciprocity on DOT requirements so trucks with proper operating authority from one country are legal in the other.